OPEN Foundation

Spiritual and Existential Dimensions in Psychedelic Care: Challenges and Insights

🗣 Roman Palitsky (MDiv, PhD. Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Director of Research Projects in Spiritual Health, Emory University) — Moderated by Erwin Krediet

⏰ Thursday 27 June, 8PM CET (7PM GMT, 2PM EST, 11AM PST)

📍 Online (Professional Community Platform)

Psychedelics are strong medicine. They provoke experiences that range into the spiritual, existential, religious, and (theo)logical, and which often have profound and lasting impacts on individuals’ lives. These enduring effects are one of the sources of psychedelics’ therapeutic potential. And yet, despite growing research, the challenges that can accompany psychedelics are still poorly understood.
 
This talk will share research examining spiritual, existential, and cultural dimensions of psychedelic care, including psychedelic-related challenges and adverse effects, and their implications for ethical and accountable care.
 
Discover how these insights can shape a more comprehensive and compassionate approach to psychedelic care.

READY TO ATTEND?

ATTEND FOR FREE AS A MEMBER

Unlock access to this and all exclusive events with leading psychedelic experts and engage in real time through the OPEN Professional Community Membership. Plus, enjoy a community space, a content library, discounts, and more.

ATTEND with a small donation

Not ready to become an OPEN community member? You can attend this event through a small one-time donation to help support the OPEN Foundation, a leading nonprofit dedicated to advancing psychedelic research since 2007.

ABOUT THE SPEAKERs

RomanE5
Roman Palitsky, MDiv, Ph.D. is Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Director of Research Projects in Spiritual Health at Emory University, and is faculty in the Emory Center for Psychedelics and Spirituality. His research applies a bio-psycho-social-spiritual approach to improving behavioral interventions by ensuring that the treatments we offer are responsive to care seekers’ cultural needs and strengths. His work in psychedelic treatment research reflects these commitments by seeking to make psychedelic therapies rigorous, effective, and accountable to the many patient populations who might benefit from them, and to support those care seekers who may experience adverse effects.

WHAT'S UNIQUE ABOUT THIS EVENT?

Attending this online event is an interactive experience, unlike watching a lecture on YouTube or a webinar. You'll have the chance to connect with the speakers directly and ask questions, allowing you to explore the topic in greater depth.

ALREADY A MEMBER?

To access the OPEN Community Platform, click the button below. The platform not only live streams all events, but also provides direct access to event recordings.

27 June - Spiritual & Existential Dimensions in Psychedelic Care: Challenges & Insights

X